What is Google+ Circles
Everyone has different kinds of circles in his or her life – you have your family circle, school friend circle, work circle etc. You don’t share all the information with everyone. There are few things you only like to share with your family, a few things you only like to share with your best of buddies. Google+ Circles is also just that. It helps you organize everyone according to your real-life social connections like ‘family,’ ‘work friends,’ ‘football team,’ etc. organizing everyone in circles helps you share relevant content with the right people, and follow content posted by people you find interesting. For example, you might post an announcement about your promotion only with family and work friends and not necessarily with football team.
You also have the ability to customize your personal profile information for your circles. For example, your contact details, location, and relationship information would be visible to your friends circle, while your employment history and education would be visible to your alumni association circle.
Have a look at the below video from Google on Google+ Circles.
Working With Google Circles
To begin editing your circles, click the Circles icon at the top of the stream and follow the instructions below.
You can add people to your circles in a number of ways:
- Use the Find and Invite Tab
- People suggestions
- Invite people
You can select more than one person at a time by either clicking on more than one name tile or by highlighting multiple tiles using your cursor. Also, you can put the same person into as many circles as you like.
Remove a person from all of your circles:
- Click on the person’s name.
- Click Remove in the top corner of the circle editor.
A confirmation will appear at the top of the page indicating that the person you have selected was removed from all circles. You’ll also have the option to remove this person from your Google Contacts address book. Note that this may affect other devices that are using Google Contacts (e.g. a mobile device).
Google Plus Tips: How to Download Google Plus Data
Google Plus Tips:Use Google Plus Feed to share posts on Facebook automatically
Google Plus Tips:Google Plus Shortcuts
Google Plus Tips:How Google Plus affect SEO
Remove someone from a specific circle:
- Click the circle to open it.
- Select who you’d like to remove from the circle and click Remove.
You may also remove people from circles by clicking their photo in the circle and dragging them out.
Delete a circle:
- Click the circle you’d like to delete.
- Click Delete this circle at the bottom of the pop up box.
Once you delete a circle, you cannot recover it. In addition, anything you previously shared with that circle will become private to you and only visible in your stream and your profile's Posts tab.
Who Can See Your Circles
People in circles that you share with may be able to see some of the others with whom that content was also shared. Learn more about seeing who a post was shared with.
Your content may be shared beyond the bounds which you originally intended if your post is re-shared or if someone is mentioned on your post. For instance, if someone is mentioned in a comment, they’ll be able to see the entire post even if the post wasn’t originally shared with them.
People Suggestions in Google Plus
On the side of the stream and on the Find and Invite tab, you may see suggestions for people Google+ thinks you might know. While viewing your suggestions beside the stream, you can add suggested people to your circles by clicking Add to circles next to their name. If you don’t know a suggested person or if you don’t want to add them to a circle, mouse over the person’s name and click the X.
Sharing with Extended Circles
Extended circles are like your circles’ circles. Content shared with your extended circles could appear in the Incoming stream of people who might not know, but you will be aware of those. For example, Mickey Mouse is in your circle and Donald Duck is in Mickey’s circle. But you don’t know Donald Duck and he is not in your circle. If Mickey Mouse decides to have Donald Duck visible on his profile amongst the people in his circle and you share with your extended circles, your content can appear in Donald Duck’s stream.
To block someone, go to their profile and on the side of the profile click Block [person's name] and confirm.
You can also block someone by placing them in your Blocked circle while editing your circles, via the drop-down arrow at the top of one of their posts, or by clicking Block in a notification email you received from that person.
When you block someone:
- You won’t see their content in the stream or on Incoming (even though you’ll remain in their circles).
- They’ll be removed from any circles of yours that they appear in.
- They’ll be removed from your extended circles even if you have mutual connections.
- They won’t be able to comment on your content that was posted after they were blocked.
- They won’t be able to view content shared with your circles except for public post.
- They won’t be able to mention you in posts or comments.
You might end up getting a lot of notifications. You might receive notifications when:
- Someone adds you to a circle
- Tags you in a photo
- Shares a post with you directly
- Comments on one of your posts
To change your notification settings:
- Click your full name or email address in the Google+ bar.
- Click Account settings.
- Click Google+.
- Subscribe or unsubscribe by adding or removing a check mark next to each notification type.